Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more. The Bureau County Republican is published Wednesday and Saturday mornings.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Stay connected to us wherever you are! With bcralerts, get breaking news updates along with other area information sent to you as a text message to your wireless device or by e-mail.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Keep up with what's going on in your community by reading the bcrbriefs. This easy to read synopsis of today's news will be emailed directly to you Tuesday through Saturday at no charge. Sign up today!

Zearing scholarship winners honored

PRINCETON — Four Bureau County students have been named the 2014 recipients of the Robert I. and Delyte K. Zearing scholarship.

Shelley Giesen, wealth advisor and trust officer of Heartland Bank and Trust, Princeton, along with Brad Hulick, assistant regional superintendent of schools for Bureau, Henry and Stark counties, made the announcement at a Thursday luncheon at Wise Guys Bar & Grill in Princeton.

The 2014 recipients are graduates of Princeton High School and St. Bede Academy. They each receive a $4,000 annual scholarship to the University of Illinois. The recipients may renew their scholarships for a total of four years, provided they continue to meet eligibility criteria specified on the application. The total value of each award could reach $16,000.

The 2014 scholarship recipients are as follows:

• Lindsay Hartwig of Princeton, the daughter of Bob and Marcia Hartwig, is a 2014 graduate of Princeton High School.

• Hailey Hedden of Princeton, the daughter of Nicholle Mitchell and Jerrod Hedden, is a 2014 graduate of Princeton High School.

• Nicole Yaklich of Princeton, the daughter of Gary and Julia Yaklich, is a 2013 graduate of St. Bede Academy, Spring Valley.

• Gabriel Kelly, son of James and Sheila Kelly, is a 2012 graduate of Princeton High School.
Hartwig and Hedden will attend the University of Illinois in Urbana-Champaign this fall. Yaklich and Kelly are currently attending the university.

Loading more