60°FOvercastFull Forecast

Dean reunion

Published: Monday, Sept. 1, 2014 1:20 p.m. CDT

TISKILWA — The 77th annual Dean reunion was held July 27 at the West Park in Tiskilwa. There were 89 people in attendance.

Dean Starovasnik gave the table grace followed by a picnic dinner.

After the meal, President Judy Schindel presided over the meeting. Recorded births were a son, Kaden Ryker Jaques to Jamie Jensen and Jacob Jaques; a daughter, Avery Renee Sims to Janelle Jones and Timothy Sims. Recorded deaths were Norman Dean, Stephanie Turcotte Farmer and Carol Ann Dean Starovasnik. Recorded marriages were Hailey Schindel to Eric Schaefer and Stephanie Feurer to Mike DiPietro.

Prizes were awarded in several categories. Merle Polson was the oldest male. Mae Gall was the oldest female. Dean Brolley was the youngest boy. Avery Sims was the youngest girl. Tom and Janice Bickett were the newlyweds. David and Alice Schindel were married the longest. The Bruce and Melissa Powell family traveled the farthest by plane. The Sean and Sherry Starovasnik family traveled the farthest by car. Sarah and Kathryn Hemmen were the girls with the longest hair. Braydyn Kruse was the boy with the shortest hair. Jason Dean was the person in the Army. Joyce Stogentin, Anna Flaig and Betty Dean were the people bringing a covered dish from the new Dean Family Cookbook.

After the meeting, family members played games including the egg toss, water balloons and minute to win it.

The 78th Dean reunion will be held July 26 at the West Park in Tiskilwa.

The 2015 officers are Jason Dean, president; Jeanette Johnson, vice president; and Alice Schindel, secretary.

More News