Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more. The Bureau County Republican is published Wednesday and Saturday mornings.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Stay connected to us wherever you are! With bcralerts, get breaking news updates along with other area information sent to you as a text message to your wireless device or by e-mail.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Keep up with what's going on in your community by reading the bcrbriefs. This easy to read synopsis of today's news will be emailed directly to you Tuesday through Saturday at no charge. Sign up today!

Hall announces 2014 Hall of Fame class

SPRING VALLEY — Hall alums Rollie Himes and Jerry Stank along with two undefeated football teams will take their place into the Hall High School Athletic Fame on Sept. 12.

Himes (‘75) was an all-around standout at Hall, standing as the school’s all-time leading scorer in basketball for more than two decades before being passed by All-Stater Shawn Jeppson in 1998. Himes received a football scholarship to Illinois State University, playing one year before sustaining a knee injury.

Himes was a member of the 1973 Red Devil football that will be inducted on Sept. 12. The 1973 Red Devils are the last Hall team of any sport to go undefeated. They were a little before their time, however, playing one year before the IHSA playoffs were started up.

Stank, who graduated in 1973, was also a multi-sport athlete at Hall. He is being inducted as a Friend of Hall High School, for his service as a volunteer track coach. He also was the first girls basketball coach.

Also to be inducted is the undefeated 1928 Hall football team. There are no living members from that team.

Induction ceremonies will take place between the sophomore and varsity football games on Sept. 12 at Nesti Stadium when the Red Devils host Amboy/LaMoille.

All members of the 1973 football team are asked to contact former Hall athletic director Frank Colmone at 815-664-4789 or Mike Argubright at 815-664-2785.

This will be the fifth year for the Hall of Fame inductions.

Comment on this story at www.bcrnews.com

Loading more