Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more. The Bureau County Republican is published Wednesday and Saturday mornings.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Stay connected to us wherever you are! With bcralerts, get breaking news updates along with other area information sent to you as a text message to your wireless device or by e-mail.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Keep up with what's going on in your community by reading the bcrbriefs. This easy to read synopsis of today's news will be emailed directly to you Tuesday through Saturday at no charge. Sign up today!

Final candidates file for March 20 primary

Birkey challenges Yates-Mabry for treasurer’s nod

Bureau County voters will witness a contest for the Republican county treasurer nomination in the March 20 primary, as Joseph Birkey of Princeton, a certified public accountant, has filed to run against incumbent Treasurer Courtney Yates-Mabry of Princeton, who is seeking her second term.

That was one of several ballot races to emerge after the 5 p.m. Monday filing deadline at the Bureau County Clerk’s office in Princeton, and regionally and statewide at the Illinois State Board of Elections office in Springfield.

Jeralyn Backes, a Spring Valley Democrat, filed to run for Bureau County clerk and recorder. Matt Eggers, a Princeton Republican, previously filed. Both are unopposed in their respective primaries.

The winner in the Nov. 6, 2018, general election will replace incumbent Bureau County Clerk and Recorder Kami Hieronymus, a Princeton Republican who has served since 1996 and who is not seeking re-election.

Bureau County Sheriff Jim Reed, a first-term Arlington Democrat, will be unopposed in his party’s primary. No Republican filed to run against him.

Bureau County Board

There are no contested races for Bureau County Board.

Filing to run in various districts are:

District 1 — Robin Rediger, Buda, Republican.

District 3 – James Donarski, Republican.

District 4 — Keith Cain, Princeton, Republican.

District 6 — Derek Whited, Princeton, Republican.

District 7 – Marshann Entwhistle, Republican.

District 8 – Kristi Warren, Republican.

District 9 – Donna Braida, Republican.

District 13 – Daniel Rabe, Republican.

District 17 — James Thompson, Sheffield, Republican.

District 20 — Micah Robinson, Ladd, Democrat.

District 26 – Connie Stetson, Republican.

Precinct committeeman

Fifteen additional candidates filed to run as party precinct committeemen since 10 a.m. Friday.

They are Rick Wilkin, Ohio 1, Democrat; Robert Reglin, Manlius, Democrat; Julia Messina, Hall 8, Democrat; Richard Rivara, Hall 9, Democrat; Robert Baker, Princeton 2, Republican; William Craven, Hall 10, Democrat; Gustavo “Gus” Hernandez, Selby 2, Republican; Tony Mautino, Hall 3, Democrat; Mariele Fisher, Arispie, Democrat; Sue E. Pratt, Westfield 2, Republican; Barry Welbers, Hall 5, Republican; Keith Cain, Princeton 3, Republican; Timothy Denner, Dover, Republican; Nina Cattani Urbanowski, Hall 4, Republican; and Mary Romanelli Dremann, Princeton 1, Republican.

They join previous filers Ronald “Tom” Dobrich, Selby 3, Democrat; Alan Ring, Westfield 2, Democrat; Laurence Fonderoli, Westfield 1, Democrat; Elwin Goetz, Berlin, Republican; Robert Ori, Indiantown, Democrat; Michael Wendt, Princeton 8, Republican; and Eldon Entwhistle, Princeton 9, Republican.


A list of candidates who filed for regional posts affecting Bureau County follows:

Regional superintendent of schools, Bureau/Henry/Stark counties: Angela Zarvell, Kewanee, Republican.

Illinois House of Representatives, 73rd District: Ryan Spain, Peoria, Republican.

Illinois House of Representatives, 74th District: Dan Swanson, Alpha, Republican.

Illinois House of Representatives, 76th District: Jerry Lee Long, Streator, Republican; Jill M. Bernal, Peru, Democrat; Lance Yednock, Ottawa, Democrat.

Illinois Senate, 38th District: Sue Rezin, Morris, Republican; Heidi Henry, Marseilles, Democrat.

U.S. House of Representatives, 16th District: Adam Kinzinger, Channahon, Republican; Neill Mohammad, DeKalb, Democrat; Sara Dady, Rockford, Democrat; James T. “Jim” Marter, Oswego, Republican; Jaye DeBates, Granville, Republican; Beth Vercolio-Osmund, Ottawa, Democrat; and Amy “Murri” Briel, Joliet, Democrat.

16th District State Central Committeeman: John M. Nelson, Rockford, Democrat; Tom P. Walsh, Ottawa, Democrat; Arthur Bardsley, Loves Park, Democrat.

16th District State Central Committeewoman: Christine Benson, Ottawa, Democrat; Angelique “Angie” Bodine, Poplar Grove, Democrat; Elizabeth Lindquist, Roscoe, Democrat.


A list of candidates who filed for statewide posts follows:

Governor/lieutenant governor: Bruce Rauner, Winnetka, and Evelyn Sanguinetti, Wheaton, Republicans; J.B. Pritzker, Chicago, and Juliana Stratton, Chicago, Democrats; Chris Kennedy, Kenilworth, and Ra Joy, Chicago, Democrats; Daniel Biss, Evanston, and Litesa E. Wallace, Rockford, Democrats; Terry Getz, Dupo, Democrat; Bob Daiber, Marine, and Jonathan W. Todd, Chicago, Democrats; Jeanne Ives, Wheaton, and Rich Morthland, Cordova, Republicans; Tio Hardiman, Calumet City, and Patricia Avery, Champaign, Democrats; and Robert Marshall, Burr Ridge, and Dennis Cole, Westchester, Democrats.

Attorney general: Erika Harold, Urbana, Republican; Kwame Raoul, Chicago, Democrat; Renato Mariotti, Chicago, Democrat; Nancy Rotering, Highland Park, Democrat; Scott Drury, Highwood, Democrat; Pat Quinn, Chicago, Democrat; Gary Grasso, Burr Ridge, Republican; Sharon Fairley, Chicago, Democrat; Jesse Ruiz, Chicago, Democrat; and Aaron Goldstein, Chicago, Democrat.

Secretary of state: Jesse White, Chicago, Democrat; Jason Helland, Mazon, Republican; Michael E. Hastings, Tinley Park, Democrat.

Comptroller: Darlene Senger, Naperville, Republican; Susana A. Mendoza, Chicago, Democrat.

Treasurer: Jim Dodge, Orland Park, Republican; Michael W. Frerichs, Champaign, Democrat.

Candidates who win their parties’ primaries will face off in the Nov. 6, 2018, general election.

Loading more