Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more. The Bureau County Republican is published Wednesday and Saturday mornings.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Stay connected to us wherever you are! With bcralerts, get breaking news updates along with other area information sent to you as a text message to your wireless device or by e-mail.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Keep up with what's going on in your community by reading the bcrbriefs. This easy to read synopsis of today's news will be emailed directly to you Tuesday through Saturday at no charge. Sign up today!

Field set for Sunday's IVWGI

PRINCETON — The field has been set for the 60th annual Illinois Valley Women’s Golf Invitational, which will be held for the first time at Wyaton Hills Golf Course in Princeton Sunday.

Ten golfers make up the championship flight, including defending champ Cathy Verhulst of Prophet Hills and two-time champ Cheri Russell of Morris.

They will be joined in the final foursome teeing off at 10:50 a.m with Aiko Mendoza, the 2016 BCR Golfer of the Year of Spring Creek and Julie Schmitt of Oak Ridge.

Sophia Suarez, a two-time BCR Golfer of the Year (2013/2014), who is playing as an independent, and Amanda Scheri of Spring Creek will get the championship flight started at 10:30 a.m. with Scheri’s mother, Mary, in the next group at 10:40 a.m.

The C Flight gets the day started at 8:30 a.m. with Wyaton’s own Carolyn Barkley and Nancy Bland leading off.

There are 49 golfers signed up to play as of Wednesday morning.

2018 IVWGI Tee times

Sunday at Wyaton Hills

Participating teams: Edgewood Park (EW), McNabb; Green River (GR), Walnut; Morris Country Club, Mendota Golf Club; Prophet Hills (PH), Prophetstown; Oak Ridge (OR), LaSalle; Spring Creek (SC), Spring Valley; Wyaton Hills (WH), Princeton.

C Flight

8:30 a.m.: Carolyn Barkley (WH), Nancy Bland (WH), Karen Habben (OR).

8:40 a.m.: Norma Dietrich (PH), Karen Towns (WH), Mary Standard (WH).

8:50 a.m.: Sue Garvin (WH), Lisa Fahrio (OR), Deb Maritz (WH).

9 a.m.: Bonnie Latta (MCC), Barb Mertes (SC), Jan Booker (EW).

B Flight

9:10 a.m.: Lori Schlesinger (MCC), Gina Elias (SC), Gina Anderson (MCC), Claire Suarez (WH).

9:20 a.m.: Ann Lusher (WH), Karen Slattery (MCC), Rosie Wallace (Gr).

9:30 a.m.: Denise Oberle (GR), Bonnie Marusich (SC), Tammy Johnson (MCC), Nancy Pierson (WH).

9:40 a.m.: Linda Molln (GR), Anita Wyatt (WH), Anna Flaig (WH).

A Flight

9:50 a.m.: Karen Wiersema (PH), Carol Towne (WH), Angie Carl (GR), Kris Zschiesche (PH).

10 a.m.: Donna Moore (PH), Tammy Howlett (GR), Hilda Koppens (SC), Corri Kelly (PH).

10:10 a.m.: Margie Sommers (PH), Terry Folmar (OR), Karen Anderson (GR), Lori Zschiesche (PH).

Championship Flight

10:30 a.m.: Amanda Scheri (SC), Sophia Suarez (Ind).

10:40 a.m.: Sarah Hoffert (MCC), Kristie Witte (MCC), Shelley Felske (PH), Mary Scheri (SC).

10:50 a.m.: Cheri Russell (MCC), Julie Schmitt (OR), Aiko Mendoza (SC), Cathy Verhulst (PH).

Loading more