Digital Access

Digital Access
Access and all Shaw Media Illinois content from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more. The Bureau County Republican is published Wednesday and Saturday mornings.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Stay connected to us wherever you are! With bcralerts, get breaking news updates along with other area information sent to you as a text message to your wireless device or by e-mail.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Keep up with what's going on in your community by reading the bcrbriefs. This easy to read synopsis of today's news will be emailed directly to you Tuesday through Saturday at no charge. Sign up today!

Awards ceremony held in Bradford

BRADFORD — The Bradford Community Scholarship Fund awards ceremony was held recently at Bradford Grade School.

Seven of the graduating Bradford seniors were in attendance with their family and friends. They were reunited as Bradford students one last time to be recognized for their achievements in high school and to honor with awards.

Three $1,000 Bradford Community Scholarships, the Mary Jo Shipley Scholarship, Mark Verstraete Leadership award, Bradford Alumni Award, Bradford Education Organization award, Excellence in Art Award, American Legion awards and all the awards that were previously given at Bradford High School graduations were awarded.

The recipients are as follows:

• American Legion awards — Garrett Scott and Abby Stotler.

• Bradford Community Scholarship Fund awards — Kaitlin Vainowski, Garrett Scott and Abby Stotler.

• Bradford Alumni Award — Jessica Wright.

• Bradford Education Organization award — Maile Abella.

• Mary Jo Shipley Memorial award — Maggie Rouse.

• Michale Mootz Boys Athletics award — Garrett Scott.

• Duane Stewart Music Award — Maile Abella.

• Verlinda Gorman Girls Athletics award — Maggie Rouse, Natalie Murphy and Abby Stotler.

• Francis Clark Agriculture award — Natalie Murphy.

• Sally Vanzant Mathematics award — Maggie Rouse.

• Mark Verstraete Leadership award — Jessica Wright.

• Excellence in Art award — Katlin Vainowski.

Loading more