Digital Access

Digital Access
Access and all Shaw Media Illinois content from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more. The Bureau County Republican is published Wednesday and Saturday mornings.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Stay connected to us wherever you are! With bcralerts, get breaking news updates along with other area information sent to you as a text message to your wireless device or by e-mail.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Keep up with what's going on in your community by reading the bcrbriefs. This easy to read synopsis of today's news will be emailed directly to you Tuesday through Saturday at no charge. Sign up today!

Wyaton Hills, Towne set to defend titles

llinois Valley Women’s Golf Invitational update

A field of 39 golfers will tee up for the 61st annual Illinois Valley Women’s Golf Invitational at Edgewood Park Golf Club in McNabb Sunday.

Wyaton Hills of Princeton is the defending team champ with club member Carol Towne the defending individual winner.

The only other past champions in the field are two-time winner Cheri Russell of Morris (2010, 2016) and Tammy Howlett of Green River (2014). Morris tees off with Towne, Julie Schmitt (Deer Park) and Shelley Felske (Prophet Hills) in the final group off hole No. 1 at 9:10 a.m. while Howlett plays out of the A Class.

The championship class is rounded out by Sophia Suarez of Wyaton Hills, Mary Scheri of Spring Creek, Terry Folmar of Deer Park, Karen Wiersema of Prophet Hills and Edgewood’s newcomer Kelli Kennedy, a recent Putnam County High School graduate who makes her tournament debut.

Last year’s runner-up, Aiko Mendoza (Spring Creek), is not in the field.

Edgewood has won the team title in each of the past four times it has hosted the IVWGI — 1996, 2002, 2007 and 2013.

Participating clubs are Edgewood, Green River, Morris, Prophet Hills, Deer Park, Spring Creek and Wyaton Hills.

There have been different individual winners in each of the past eight years.

Sunday’s tee times

Tee times have been set for the field with first golfers on the blocks at 8:30 a.m. off both the front and back 9. The championship class will start at 9:10 a.m. off tee No. 1 with the defending champ, Towne, the final golfer to swing.

Here’s a look:

A CLASS: 8:30 a.m. (#1) — Tammy Howlett (GR), Karen Slattery (M) and Alicia Yuvan (SC); 8:40 a.m. — Tammy Johnson (M), Hilda Koppens (SC) and Denise Oberle (GR); 8:50 a.m. — Corri Zschiesche (PH), Laney Callahan (M), Karen Anderson (GR) and Bonnie Marusich (SC).

C CLASS: 8:30 a.m. (#10) — Mary Stander (WH), Kay Marincic (EW) and Karen Habben (DP); 9:20 a.m. — Nancy Bland (WH), Jane Noard (EW) and Brenda Liggett (GR); 8:50 a.m. — Barb Mertes (SC), Sue Garvin (WH) and Jan Booker (EW).

CHAMPIONSHIP CLASS: 9:10 am. (#1) — Dee Piercy (DP), Sophia Suarez (WH) and Kris Zschiesche (DP); 9:20 a.m. — Kelli Kennedy (EW), Terry Folmar (DP), Karen Wiersema (PH) and Mary Scheri (SC); 9:30 a.m. — Julie Schmitt (DP), Cheri Russell (M), Shelley Felske (PH) and Carol Towne (WH).

B CLASS: 9:10 am. (#10) — Clare Suarez (WH), Lisa Fahrion (DP), Rosie Wallace (GR); 9:20 a.m. — Nancy Pierson (WH), Bobbi Ralston (ED), Deb Maritz (WH); 9:30 a.m. — Gina Anderson (M), Norma Dietrich (PH) and Karen Towns (WH).

Loading more