Digital Access

Digital Access
Access and all Shaw Media Illinois content from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more. The Bureau County Republican is published Wednesday and Saturday mornings.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Stay connected to us wherever you are! With bcralerts, get breaking news updates along with other area information sent to you as a text message to your wireless device or by e-mail.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Keep up with what's going on in your community by reading the bcrbriefs. This easy to read synopsis of today's news will be emailed directly to you Tuesday through Saturday at no charge. Sign up today!

IVWGI do-over

IVWGI Tournament

The Illinois Valley Women’s Golf Invitational will attempt to tee up once again Sunday at Edgewood Park Golf Club in McNabb.

The original date on Aug. 11 was a rainout.

All the major players are still in the game, including defending champ Carol Towne of Wyaton Hills and two-time champ Cheri Russell of Morris.

The championship class is rounded out by Sophia Suarez of Wyaton Hills, Mary Scheri of Spring Creek, Shelley Felske and Karen Wiersema of Prophet Hills, Dee Piercy of Deer Park and Edgewood newcomer Kelli Kennedy, a 2019 Putnam County High School graduate who makes her tournament debut on her home course.

Wyaton Hills is the defending team champ.

Edgewood hopes to regain the magic on its home course where it has won the team title in each of the past four times it has hosted the IVWGI — 1996, 2002, 2007 and 2013.

There have been different individual winners in each of the past eight years.

All golfers will now start off on the front 9 with the C Class first off the No. 1 blocks at 8 a.m. The championship class is scheduled for a 9:30 a.m. tee-off, and Towne, the defending champ, the final golfer to swing at 9:50 a.m.

Here’s a look at the new tee times:

C CLASS: 8 a.m. — Mary Stander (WH), Nancy Bland (WH), Karen Habben (DP), Brenda Liggett (GR); 8:10 a.m. — Barb Mertes (SC), Jan Booker (EW), Sue Garvin (WH).

B CLASS: 8:20 am. — Gina Anderson (M), Gina Elias (SC), Bobbi Ralston (EW); 8:30 a.m. — Rosie Wallace (GR), Jane Noard (EW), Deb Maritz (WH); 8:40 a.m. — Nancy Frafcke (DP), Karen Towns (WH), Kay Marincic (EW), Norma Dietrich (PH).

A CLASS: 8:50 a.m. — Karen Slattery (M), Hilda Koppens (SC), Lisa Fahrion (DP); 9 a.m. — Bonnie Marusich (SC), Tammy Johnson (M), Nancy Pierson (WH); 9:10 a.m. — Laney Callahan (M), Terry Folmar (DP), Alicia Yuvan (SC).

CHAMPIONSHIP CLASS: 9:30 a.m. — Kelli Kennedy (EW), Dee Piercy (DP), Kris Zschiesche (PH); 9:40 a.m. — Sophia Suarez (WH), Karen Wiersema (PH), Mary Scheri (SC); 9:50 a.m. — Cheri Russell (M), Shelley Felske (PH) , Corri Zschiesche (PH), Carol Towne (WH).

Loading more