Digital Access

Digital Access
Access and all Shaw Media Illinois content from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, opinion and more. The Bureau County Republican is published Wednesday and Saturday mornings.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Stay connected to us wherever you are! With bcralerts, get breaking news updates along with other area information sent to you as a text message to your wireless device or by e-mail.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Keep up with what's going on in your community by reading the bcrbriefs. This easy to read synopsis of today's news will be emailed directly to you Tuesday through Saturday at no charge. Sign up today!

Students recognized during annual convocation, awards program

SPRING VALLEY — Hall High School held its annual convocation and awards program on April 25 in the Robert D. Manahan Auditorium for the Performing Arts. Faculty members, administrators, board members, sponsors, students and students’ families were in attendance.

The following awards were presented:

Trovillo Scholarship — Nicolas Edgcomb, Christopher Enriquez, Kaitlyn Huston, Jenna Lusietto, Shana Piotrowski, Madisyn Quinn, Joshua Ruda, Alyse Ruda, Makenzie Walk and Connor Whitten.

Baker Scholarship — Kaitlyn Huston and Jenna Lusietto.

Lauren Dimond Memorial Scholarship — Jenna Lusietto.

Hall Booster Organization scholarships — Makenzie Walk and Connor Whitten.

Helen Koch Volunteer Award/Scholarship — Nathan Diaz.

Red Devil Touchdown Club: Gary Vicini Scholarship — Nicolas Edgcomb; and Daniel Lule Scholarship — Brennen Yuvan.

Greg Colmone Scholarship — Alyse Ruda, Jenna Lusietto and Kaylee Olivares.

American Legion, Dominic Oberto Post No. 182 Scholarship Award — Ashley Choate and Jenna Lusietto.

Educators of Beauty Cosmetology Scholarship — Hope Goetz.

Hall Education Association Scholarship — Emily Wines.

Patrick Mahoney Power Mechanics Club Scholarship — Christopher Enriquez and Connor Whitten.

News Tribune All-Academic Team — Ashley Choate.

News Tribune All-Academic Team Honorable Mention — Connor Whitten.

Top underclassmen (scholastic average): freshmen Paige Blackburn, Abigail Draper, Kendall Hansen, Mihir Modi and Regina Scarpaci; sophomores Tori Bogatitus, Morgan Filippini, Anna Herrmann, Genevieve Parente and Devin Soldati; juniors Erin Biccochi, Lauren Bulak, Nathaniel Draper, Courtney Kobold and Damien Love; valedictorian Ashley Choate; and salutatorian Jenna Lusietto.

Top ten — Ashley Choate, Jenna Lusietto, Connor Whitten, Makenzie Walk, Hayden Nielsen, Emily Wines, Christopher Enriquez, Kalysta Biskie, Kaylee Olivares, Hirlaben Patel and Hunter Galassi.

Gold tassels — Hailey Bickett, Kalysta Biskie, Coltin Carboni, Ashley Choate, Kendall Cinotte, Torri Coble, Christopher Enriquez, Nicolas Edgcomb, Kyle Follmer, Hunter Galassi, Timothy Herrmann, Abby Hosheid, Matthew Hoscheid, Kaitlyn Huston, Jenna Lusietto, Hayden Nielsen, Kaylee Olivares, Hiralben Patel, Shana Piotrowki, Allison Ploch, Kylie Rennels, Alyse Ruda, Victoria Wales, Makenzie Walk, Connor Whitten and Emily Wines.

Illinois State Scholars — Ashley Choate, Jenna Lusietto, Connor Whitten, Hayden Nielsen, Emily Wines, Kalysta Biskie, Kaylee Olivares and Hunter Galassi.

DAR award winner — Jenna Lusietto.

SAR award winner — Hayden Nielsen.

Hugh O‘Brien Youth Leadership Award — Lorenzo Olivares.

Honors Activities Club Senior of the Year — Pablo Lule.

James Francisco 150% Award — Brennan Yuvan.

Power Mechanics Club Award — Taylor Bastian.

Richard Fling Memorial Award — Luke Volkert.

Peg Cassiday Memorial Citizenship Award — Hayden Nielsen, Jenna Lusietto, Pablo Lule and Makenzie Walk.

Francee Wolf Memorial Heart and Soul Award — Hayden Nielsen, Jenna Lusietto, Abby Hoscheid and Pablo Lule.

Father Garrahan Award — Connor Whitten.

Richard Nesti Football — Nicolas Edgcomb.

Alice J. Schibrowski — Jenna Lusietto.

Richard Nesti Athlete of the Year — Nicolas Edgcomb.

Elks Club Teens of the Month — Ashley Choate, Nicolas Edgcomb, Hunter Galassi, Matthew Hoscheid, Kaitlyn Huston, Jenna Lusietto, Hayden Nielsen, Kieran Trevier, Makenzie Walk and Connor Whitten.

Hall nominees for Elks Bureau County Teen of the Year — Kaitlyn Huston and Connor Whitten.

Community Service Award — Griselda Chavez, Ashley Choate, NAthan Diaz, MAtthew Hoscheid, Jenna Lusietto, Isaac Marquez, Hayden Nielsen, Kaylee Olivares, Shana Piotrowski, Gage Ripka, Madisyn Quinn, Alyse Ruda, Joshua Ruda, Kieran Trevier, Victoria Wales, Makenzie Walk, Faith Whightsil and Connor Whitten.

Hall DEEDs Project Unify Peer Partners — Ashley Choate, Brooke Bianchi, Leslie Delgado, Shyanne Dominic, Katherine Follmer, Adelyn French, Ceazah Hammonds, Charity Harmon, Hanah Hart, Janessa Hart, Hallee Heredia, Alexandria Kinkin Racicot, Hailey Newton and Emily Wines.

Special Olympics honorees — Trenton Dominy, Sara Ely, David Garcia, Tianna Hood, Nathaniel Nunley, Codi Osborn, Mariah Pouk, Kayla Russell, Kristine Shan, Spencer Snipe and Erin Stanford.

Student Council officers — Ashley Choate, president; and Kaylee Olivares, vice president.

Freshmen class Student Council members — President Jacob Wilson, vice president Perla Aldana, secretary Sasha Piotrowski, treasurer Rachael Kobold, and representatives Janessa Floyd, Edith Gutierrez and Madelyn Hultz.

Sophomore class Student Council members — President Elaine Robbins, vice president Connor Ripka, secretary Anna Herrmann, treasurer Alaina Hannon, and representatives Morgan Filippini, Hailey Newton, Felicia Olivares, Lorenzo Olivares and Devin Soldati.

Junior class Student Council members — Vice president Cade Wozniak, secretary Kora Cruz, treasurer MacKenzie Delaney, and representatives Hallee Heredia, Cassidy Jablonski, Courtney Kobold and Olivia Orlandi.

Senior class Student Council members — President Jenna Lusietto, vice president Kaitlyn Huston, secretary Alyse Ruda, and representatives Shana Piotrowski, Nick Edgcomb, Gage Ripka, Joshua Ruda and Makenzie Walk.

Art Excellence Award — Alexandra McCann.

Area Vocational School Students of the Month — Pablo Lule and Carson Corpus.

Land Use Council 2 Envirothon Wildlife Category winners — Eric Cissell, Morgan Filippini, Mihir Modi, Regina Scarpaci and Arlington Steinnen.

Stole winners — Ashley Choate, English; Jenna Lusietto, French; Alyse Ruda, Spanish; Connor Whitten, math; Treyton Funfsinn, science; Kaylee Olivares, social studies; Emily Wines, fine arts (arts); Madisyn Quinn, fine arts (vocal music); Hayden Nielsen, fine arts (band); Hayden Nielsen, industrial technology; and Pablo Lule, Area Career Center.

National Honor Society members — Juniors Erin Biccochi, Nathaniel Draper, Hallee Heredia, Cassidy Jablonki, Courtney Kobold, Olivia Orlandi, Alan Ruiz, Westley Schmidt, Madison Soldati and Cade Wozniak; and seniors Ashley Choate, Nicolas Edgcomb, Christopher Enriquez, Abby Hoscheid, Matthew Hoscheid, Kaitlyn Huston, Jenna Lusietto, Hayden Nielsen, Kaylee Olivares, Shana Piotrowski, Alyse Ruda, Makenzie Walk and Connor Whitten.

The program ended with the ceremonial torch passing from 2016-17 senior class president Jenna Lusietto to 2017-18 senior class president Cade Wozniak; 2016-17 Student Council President Ashley Choate to 2017-18 Student Council President Hallee Heredia.

Loading more